|California Enrollment Fee||$46|
|Capital Outlay Fee per unit||$39|
|Total Non-Resident Tuition per unit||$375|
A non-resident tuition fee will be charged to those students eighteen (18) years of age or older at the time of registration, who have not been living in the State of California for a period of one (1) year prior to the date of enrollment. Students under eighteen (18) will be charged non-resident tuition if the student’s parents or legal guardian are a resident of another state.
A student who does not qualify for California residency is classified as a non-resident student and is required to pay a non-resident tuition fee. The fee for non-resident tuition is $290 per unit. This fee is in addition to the $46 per unit enrollment fee mandated by the State of California. Non-resident students must also pay an additional $39 per unit capital outlay fee pursuant to Education Code Section 76141.
Students who qualify for California Non-Resident Tuition Exemption (AB 540) or (AB 2364) are not required to pay the non-resident tuition and capital outlay fees.
All fees are subject to change.
|Student Health Center Fee fall and spring||$20|
|Student Health Center Fee summer||$17|
|Student Activity/Student Government Association Sticker Fee||$7|
|Student Activity/Student Government Association Sticker Card (optional) summer||$3|
|Parking Fee fall/spring2||$34|
|California College Promise Grant (formerly BOGW Fee Waiver) Parking Fee||$20|
|Motorcycle Parking Fee2||$20|
|Parking Fee summer2 (or $2 a day from the meter at San Jacinto, Menifee Valley and San Gorgonio Pass)||$15|
|Student Representation Fee (optional)||$2|
|Help-A-Student Fund (optional)||$2|
Material fees as listed in the current schedule
Less than 6 units, $5.50 + $.50; 6 units or more $5.00 + $1.00 (Total $6 reflects RTA and Transportation Service fees).
Only students displaying a current state issued disabled parking placard may park in designated disabled parking spaces. A current, valid MSJC parking permit is also required.
Students will be charged the SGA and Student Rep Fee unless they decline prior to registration.
California College Promise Grant
The California College Promise Grant ensures that no student who is eligible and who wants to attend Mt . San Jacinto College is denied entrance because of the enrollment fee. To receive a Promise Grant a student must be a California resident or be eligible for AB 540, California Non-resident Tuition Exemption, must be either receiving Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) or Supplemental Social Security or General Assistance, or meet the past year’s income criterion. Students receiving the Promise Grant must meet minimum academic and progress standards to remain eligible for the waiver. Complete information is available in the Financial Aid Office.
Enrollment fees shall be waived for the following:
- Dependents of certain deceased or disabled veterans and California National Guard members upon certification of fee waiver eligibility by the California Department of Veterans Affairs or the National Guard Adjutant General;
- The surviving spouse or the child, natural or adopted, of a deceased person who met all the requirements of Education Code section 68120 regarding active law enforcement service or active fire suppression and prevention;
- A dependent of any individual killed in the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in New York City, the Pentagon building in Washington, D.C., or the crash of United Airlines Flight 93 in southwestern Pennsylvania, if he or she meets the financial need requirements for the Cal Grant A Program, pursuant to Education Code section 69432.7 and either the dependent was a resident of California on September 11, 2001, or the individual killed in the attacks was a resident of California on September 11, 2001. The exemption for a surviving child continues until the dependent child reaches the age of thirty (30).
Enrollment and other Fees are waived for Registered Apprentices
Education Code 76350 states that “no charges or fees shall be required to be paid by a resident or nonresident apprentice, or by his or her parent or guardian, for admission or attendance in any course of activity or community college course that is offered pursuant to Section 3074 of the Labor Code,” and Education Code 76355 exempts apprentices from health fees. MSJC is a member of the LAUNCH Apprenticeship Network and information concerning “Apprenticeship Pathways” is available at Launch Apprenticeship.
For Eligible California High School Graduates
(The law passed by the Legislature in 2001 as AB 540: Education Code Section 68130.5)
Any student, other than a nonimmigrant alien (except T and U visas), who meets all of the following requirements, shall be exempt from paying non-resident tuition at the California Community Colleges, the California State University and the University of California (all public colleges and universities in California). Students who are nonimmigrants (for example, those who hold F [student] visas, B [visitor] visas, etc.) are not eligible for this exemption.
- Total attendance (or attainment of credits earned) in California equivalent to three or more years of full-time attendance at California high schools, California high schools establish by the State of Board of Education, California adult schools (established by a county office of education, a unified school district or high school district, or the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation), campuses of the California Community Colleges, or a combination of these; or
Three or more years of full-time high school coursework, AND a total of three or more years of attendance in California elementary schools, California secondary schools, or a combination of California elementary and secondary schools.
- Graduation from a California high school or the equivalent prior to the start of the term (for example, passing the California GED or California High School Proficiency exam CHSPE); or
Attainment of an associate degree from a California community college; or
Fulfillment of the minimum transfer requirements established for the University of California or the California State University for students transferring from a California community college.
- Students without lawful immigration status must file an affidavit with the college or university stating that he or she has filed an application to legalize their immigration status, or will file an application as soon as he or she is eligible to do so;
Students eligible for this exemption must submit a California Nonresident Tuition Exemption form to Enrollment services along with all official transcripts or attendance records being used to fulfill the requirements. Students who are transferring to another California public college or university must submit a new request (and documentation, if required) to each college under consideration.
Non-resident students meeting the criteria will be exempted from the payment of non-resident tuition, but they will not be classified as California residents. They continue to be “non-residents.”
Students are not eligible if living outside of California taking distance education classes.
Special part-time Student Non-Resident Tuition Exemption (AB 2364)
A special part-time student, other than a nonimmigrant alien shall be exempt from non-resident tuition and capital outlay fees.
The California Dream Act of consists of two laws passed in 2011 (AB 130 & 131). Together, these bills allow undocumented and documented students who meet certain provisions of AB 540 law (see above) to apply for and receive non-state funded scholarships for public colleges and universities (AB 130), state-funded financial aid such as institutional grants, community college fee waivers, Cal Grant and Chafee Grant (AB 131).
If you are an undocumented AB 540 student, complete the CA Dream Application at Dream or if you are a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, complete the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) at FAFSA to determine your eligibility for financial aid programs.